The Twelfth Edition of Tata Literature Live! The Mumbai Litfest
Thursday, November 18th to Sunday, November 21st 2021

Literature Unmasked

Live on YouTube, Facebook,
Twitter & Instagram

The Illusionist

  • Friday, 19th Nov
  • 6:30 pm - 7:15 pm IST

In his latest book Languages of Truth Rushdie demonstrates his love of literature across the ages – from Shakespeare to Toni Morrison – and his profound understanding of the evolution and impact of literature and culture. The exuberant magical realism of that midnight awakening which clearly had deep roots in scholarship will be acknowledged forever.


Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie shot to fame in 1981 when his pioneering book Midnight’s Children won the Booker Prize. He has since gone on to become a multi-award winning author, honoured in many countries, with 14 novels, a book of stories and five non-fiction works. His books have been translated into 40 languages. He received a Knighthood in 2007. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and the American Academy of Arts and Letters, an Honorary  Professor in the Humanities at M.I.T, and a Distinguished Writer in Residence at New York University.

More Info

Salil Tripathi

Salil Tripathi is on the board of PEN International and senior advisor at the Institute for Human Rights and Business. He is an award winning journalist whose articles have appeared in many international publications.

More Info

Books In The Session

Languages Of Truth

  • Salman Rushdie


Presented By

British Council



You May Also Like

For the Love of the Word: The Anil Dharker Session – The Writer’s Conscience

  • Thursday, 18th Nov
  • 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm IST

Inauguration of Tata Literature Live! 2021
followed by Amitav Ghosh in conversation with Hrishi K

Amitav Ghosh, Hrishi K


  • Thursday, 18th Nov
  • 6:00 pm - 6:30 pm IST

Surviving men
Amy K. Blakemore, Christina Sweeney-Baird
Chair: Peter Griffin

Tree’s Company

  • Thursday, 18th Nov
  • 6:30 pm - 7:15 pm IST

Planting a green thought
Jonathan Drori, Pradip Krishen
Chair: Suprabha Seshan

View Full Schedule